From the Zone January 2018

From the Zone!

It’s hard to believe that my first year as Zone Rep has passed. It was great fun traveling around the Zone and getting to meet so many friendly and passionate members. I welcome 2018 and all the new experiences the year will bring.

I cannot begin to look forward to the New Year without thanking the Presidents who give some much of their time with the goal of making their Regions successful. Four of those Presidents have completed their terms and will be moving into their roles as Past Presidents. Please help me in thanking them for their continued commitment to their regions. They are Ken Hold, from Bluegrass, Chuck LaMantia from Chicago, Brendon Schellpfeffer, from Central Wisconsin, and Scott Klueh from Southern Indian Region. Thank you for your continued support of your regions and the dedication you showed to your members. I am sure you will continue to be valuable assets to your replacements and your region!

With that said, please help me welcome the new presidents! They are Patrick Meyer from Bluegrass, Neil MacDonald from Chicago, Charles Holstein from Central Wisconsin and Jeff Jackson from Southern Indiana. Thank you gentlemen for stepping up to take the helm of your regions. We all look forward to working with you to continue to build your regions and to make membership in your regions a rewarding experience for all.

I am happy to report that the membership numbers continued on a positive path over the past year. The Zone added 226 Primary Members and 86 Co-Members across the 8 regions making up the Zone. This brings total membership to 3,660 Members and 2,213 Co-Members. We must continue to provide our members with great events geared toward the many different interests that the club supports.

Speaking of membership, we had three members last year reach the milestone anniversary of 50 years in the Club. They were Rod Gustafson of Chicago Region, Robert Hindman of Chicago Region and Daniel Pankratz of Fox Valley Region. This year we have three more people reaching their 50th anniversary. They are William Moses of Chicago Region, Elliot Papermaster of Milwaukee Region, and Ronald Tanton of Chicago Region. Congratulations to all!

Speaking of anniversaries, Chicago Region just completed their 60th year.  The Bluegrass Region will celebrate their 15th Year and Lincoln Trail will be celebrating their 55th Birthday in 2018.

As I sit here looking outside at the snow on the ground and the thermometer showing below zero temperatures, it’s hard to think about driving events. However, it is not too early to start making plans to attend this year’s Parade. It is being held at the Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach, MO. This is within a day’s drive for most of the Zone. The dates for the event are July 8th to the 14th. If you are unable to make it for the full week, then come for part of the week. Housing signup will be taking place the end of January into the beginning of February. So, it is not too early to begin to make plans for this event.

Also coming up in February is the Winter Board Meeting. The Board Meeting is being held on February 10, 2018. For those wishing to attend, it is being held at The Hotel at Arundel Preserve
located at 7795 Arundel Mills Boulevard, Hanover, MD 21076.

Here’s looking forward to a Happy and Healthy New Year for all!
Jack Stephensen